Election time in Canada


It could come as early as March 21st. A federal election that Stephen Harper could gain a majority in. I will be involved in helping to elect Gerry McIntaggert in the Sudbury riding. He has an excellent chance of unseating Diane Marleau.

There was a great turnout for the nomination meeting earlier this evening, at the Steelhall – perhaps fifty people. Gerry is a hardworking former city councillor and he will make a great addition to the federal NDP caucus. I will have more later and will keep a regular post.

I want to make it clear that for my part, this country is in a lot of trouble and most people don’t seem to know or care to know. Also, if Harper wins; and he has a good chance because of the dysfunctional state of Canada’s electoral system, then I believe that’s what it will take for Canadians to wake up and reclaim our political system.

1 Comment

Filed under 2007 Federal election, Canadian Politics, Gerry McIntaggert, Left Politics, NDP, Politics, Sudbury NDP, SUDBURY ONTARIO

One response to “Election time in Canada

  1. Yikes, that’s nearly 2 days away as I’m writing this. Let’s hope that Stephen doesn’t call the election just yet. A neither a conservative or liberal majority would be a good thing in my mind. I do think that some of the best things that have happened in Canadian politics have happened in minority governments, when parties work together. I’m doing what I can to encourage folks to wait at least till January 2008 to call the election, just not yet!

Leave a Reply

